The building in Smithers we all refer to affectionately as “The Old Church” started out as St. James’ Anglican Church in 1913, the same year the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway founded the site we now call the Town of Smithers. Sitting on the corner of King St. and First Ave., St. James’ church and its church hall became a spiritual and community centre for the growing village and later town.
After the parish of St. James moved to its new home on Princess St. in 1975, the original parish church building was left unused and suffered disrepair and neglect.
In 2004, thanks to the dedication and vision of a dynamic group of volunteers, the building was renovated and resurrected for use as a community assembly and recital centre and given the moniker “The Old Church”. Since 2004, the Old Church has been administered by the BV Museum.
Later the beautiful gardens were developed and are currently maintained by a wonderful group of “green thumb” volunteers. Gardening enthusiasts are welcome to view our wonderful examples of the flora we grow in our northern gardens. If you would like to join this merry group of gardening enthusiasts, please phone the Museum (250) 847-5322 or email email@example.com
The Old Church is available for rental as a site for musical performances, seminars, lectures, theatre, dance classes, weddings and birthday parties and more.
The Old Church can accommodate up to 90 people and comes with a fully equipped kitchen complete with coffee urns, dishes, food safe dishwasher, fridge and stove and inspected by the Northern Health Authority. The facility also boasts an upright piano, sound system, 2 washrooms and other wonderful features.